30 Songs In 30 Days – Day 1

Day 1 – Your Favourite Song

Born To Run – Bruce Springsteen

The 1985 live version in this YouTube clip is actually my favourite version (it appears on the Live 75-85 box set) and was the first version I really knew, although the song has become my favourite in any version.  Don’t remember it coming out, as I was just out of nappies, but I have loved it since the first time I heard it in the mid-80s.  It was the song that first alerted me to Bruce, the beginning of what I call being a fan, but some might say is verging on obsession.  What do I love about it?  Well, pretty much everything – the lyrics, the vocal, the energy of the music and, of course, the sax solo (I think this may be the reason I love the sax so much).  Many other songs have come and gone over the years, but this one has stayed with me through good and bad times and every time I hear it, I feel the same excitement as I did the first time.  And it still sends a shiver down my spine when I’m in “listening to music” mode, rather than “music being on while I do other things” mode!

This entry was posted in 30 Songs In 30 Days. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Songs In 30 Days – Day 1

  1. rickiej says:

    Love it too and got that live version on the box set! It is the ultimate Boss track for sure.
    I would say it’s in my top 20 (may top15!) but im my top 3 ‘inspirational songs’ of all time

  2. vicki McCormick says:

    Hey Ian, just started reading your blog! will be following your 30 days of music with interest! Really good Idea,
    Day 1 good Tune and Oliver has just watched his first music video!

Leave a Reply

