30 Songs In 30 Days – Day 3

Day 3 – A Song That Makes You Happy

I Call Your Name – Johnny Clegg and Juluka

Music generally relaxes me and makes me happy – apart from the kind I had to consider for yesterday’s selection obviously – so another difficult decision.  I have gone for a song that definitely always puts a smile on my face when I hear it.  The track itself is upbeat and positive, while I love Johnny’s lyrics, as I do on many of his songs.  But it’s really the associations of the song that make me smile. It was the first Johnny Clegg song I remember hearing – he was a singer my friend in the next room in halls at university liked but I’d never heard of.  Dan always used to play this one loud when he was going for a night out and, when we later shared a house where all four of us liked Johnny Clegg, it became the standard tune that echoed around the house as we got ready or had a pre-going out beer.  Ever since, it has been a song I have put on when I am off on a jolly, or just when I feel the need to cheer myself up.  I recently saw Johnny Clegg live for the first time (in Paris), and was delighted that he played this one during the show.

This entry was posted in 30 Songs In 30 Days. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Songs In 30 Days – Day 3

  1. Alan says:

    Never heard of this guy, the exotic arrangement reminds me of Paul Simon

Leave a Reply

