30 Songs In 30 Days – Day 4

Day 4 – A Song That Makes You Sad

Bruce Springsteen – You’re Missing

Not so much a song that makes me sad (because I wouldn’t listen to ones that did) but a song that I think is very moving and calls to mind very sad emotions.  From the album “The Rising” and inspired, like a lot of that album, by the events of Sept 11 2001, but the feelings behind it are universal.  It captures perfectly the sheer emptiness of losing somebody you love and the struggle to come to terms with it as life inevitably carries on around you.  It strikes a chord with me from the loss of both my parents.  “Your house is waiting for you to walk in, but you’re missing” – exactly how I felt whenever I went to my sister’s house, where my dad lived with her, after his unexpected death three years ago.  Still do sometimes.  As in many songs, I feel as if Bruce had been inside my head before he wrote this one.  I was at the concert the YouTube clip was filmed at, and I remember seeing tears in the eyes of sax player Clarence Clemons during the song.

As a footnote, I also love the strangely upbeat organ solo at the end of the song.  Played by the late Danny Federici, long time member of the E-Street Band, who died a couple of years ago.  RIP Phantom Dan, contributor to some of the best rock and roll I have heard.

This entry was posted in 30 Songs In 30 Days. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30 Songs In 30 Days – Day 4

  1. Rickie J says:

    Will listen to that in a different light now…..

  2. vicki McCormick says:

    Hey

    Never heard this song before, its really nice.

  3. Alan says:

    One of my favourites. I love sad songs, they soothe me – and this is one of the best examples.

Leave a Reply

