30 Songs In 30 Days – Day 27

Day 27 – A Song You Wish You Could Play

Parisienne Walkways – Gary Moore

This is a category with a vast array of choices for me.  As I love a huge range of guitar-based music and I am a relative beginner at playing the guitar, there are literally hundreds of songs I like that I want to be able to play.  There are many excellent guitarists whose work has contributed hugely to music I love – Nils Lofgren, Richie Sambora, Brian May, George Harrison to name just a few of them.  But when it comes to what I most wish I could play, it has to be something by Eric Clapton or Gary Moore.  It’s not just about playing the notes – in fact I can play a couple of Clapton songs – it is about wishing I could capture their style.  Both are brilliant virtuoso guitarists, who each have an unmistakable sound that the rest of us can only dream of getting anywhere near to.

In the end, I have chosen my favourite Gary Moore song, which is a perfect example of his amazing playing.  His recent death marked the tragic loss of one of the great rock musicians, and one of the very best to have picked up the instrument I endeavour to play.

This entry was posted in 30 Songs In 30 Days. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

